Governor General's Awards in Visual and Media Arts 2008

The Awards

The Governor General’s Awards in Visual and Media Arts, Canada’s foremost distinctions for excellence in these artistic disciplines, were created in 1999 by the Governor General of Canada and the Canada Council for the Arts. The Canada Council funds and administers the awards.

The $25,000-prizes are awarded annually to visual and media artists for distinguished career achievement in fine arts, applied arts, independent film and video, or audio and new media. One prize is awarded annually for outstanding contributions to the visual and / or media arts in a volunteer or professional capacity. The prizes include the Saidye Bronfman Award for excellence in the fine crafts.

This year’s independent peer jury for the Governor General’s Awards consisted of artists and arts professionals Robert Houle (Toronto), Greg Payce (Calgary), Carol Phillips (Winnipeg), Christine Ross (Montreal) and Jin-me Yoon (Vancouver). Greg Payce and Carol Phillips also served on the jury for the Saidye Bronfman Award, along with Micheline Beauchemin (Les Grondines, Que.), Laura Donefer (Harrowsmith, Ont.) and Paul Greenhalgh (Washington, D.C.).
The Canada Council for the Arts acknowledges the valued roles played by The Samuel and Saidye Bronfman Family Foundation, the National Gallery of Canada and the Canadian Museum of Civilization in the celebration of these awards.